Announcing Racing’s Night Of Champions Finalists

NSW Racehorse Owners Association is pleased to announce the 2019/20 finalists for this year’s Racing’s Night of Champions.

The awards for horses in 10 different categories will again be presented at a black-tie evening in the Royal Randwick Ballroom on Thursday, 22 October 2020.

The shortlist of finalists, which is arrived at using a points system, will then be judged by a panel of industry participants, including a representative each from Racing NSW, TAB, the ATC and the racing media, as well as three NSWROA Board members.

A tally of their votes will determine the winners, which will be announced on the night of the awards.

2020 Racing’s Night of Champions Finalists

NSW 2 YEAR OLD OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Arrowfield


Away Game/Farnan

King’s Legacy

NSW 3 YEAR OLD OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Inglis



Yes Yes Yes

NSW SPRINTER OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Australian Turf Club


Nature Strip/Trekking

Yes Yes Yes

NSW MILER OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Wild Oaks


Con Te Partiro (USA)/Fierce Impact (Jpn)/


Te Akau Shark (NZ)

NSW MIDDLE DISTANCE HORSE OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by NSW Trainers’ Association


Addeybb (Ire)/Kings Will Dream (Ire)

Verry Elleegant (NZ)

NSW STAYER OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Highclere Racing


Come Play With Me/Etah James (NZ)

The Chosen One (NZ)

Verry Elleegant (NZ)

QUEEN OF THE AUTUMNProudly sponsored by City Tattersalls Club


Con Te Partiro (USA)/Funstar

Probabeel (NZ)

NSW CHAMPION HORSE OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by TAB Addeybb (Ire)


Fierce Impact (Jpn)/

Nature Strip

Verry Elleegant (NZ)

NSW COUNTRY CHAMPION HORSE OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Sky Thoroughbred Central


Handle The Truth/Lord Von Costa/



NSW PROVINCIAL CHAMPION HORSE OF THE YEARProudly sponsored by Sky Thoroughbred Central


Mustajeer (GB)/Raheen House (Ire)

Special Reward

Loyal supporters TAB, Racing NSW, Sky Racing, the Australian Turf Club, Wild Oaks, City Tatts and Inglis are joined by new sponsors the NSW Trainers’ Association, Highclere Racing and Arrowfield Stud.

The NSW Trainers’ Association, who will be sponsoring the NSW Middle Distance Horse of the Year Award, are dedicating the award to their Director and respected friend, the late Rick Worthington.

Other gongs to be presented on the night include the BOBS Horse of the Year, the Sydney Strapper of the Year, the Caryl Williamson NSW Racing Writers’ Personality of the Year, the TJ Smith Award, the George Moore Award, the Theo Green Award and the Bart Cummings Medal.

Due to the economic and physical challenges presented by COVID-19 this year, no charity could be engaged to source donations for fundraising. Therefore this year’s event will be minus the usual auctions and raffles.

However, a fantastic three-course dinner and fine wines will be served and there will be live entertainment.

The 2020 Racing’s Night of Champions Awards will be recorded and televised on Sky Thoroughbred Central on the Foxtel platform, and also internationally by their exclusive media partner Sky Racing, with highlights of the night also being shown across all Sky Racing channels.

Due to COVID-19 related guest restrictions, tickets to the event, at $210 per person ($2,100 for a table of 10) will sell out quickly.

For more information regarding the 2020 Racing’s Night of Champions, contact Jane Henning at the NSWROA office on 0421 353 871, by email [email protected] or visit the NSWROA website

Share this article