2022 Newhaven Park Country Championships Series

Racing NSW today announced the 2022 dates and venues for the $1.6 million Newhaven Park Country Championships Series.

The Series in 2022 will again be run on six Sundays and two Saturdays before culminating in a $500,000 Final at Royal Randwick Racecourse on Saturday, 2 April 2022 on Day 1 of The Star Championships.

The Newhaven Park Country Championships commence with a double header on the weekend of 12 and 13 February 2022 at Coffs Harbour (Northern Rivers) and Nowra (South East). The second week of the series will also see back-to-back meetings at Wagga Wagga (Southern Districts) and Taree (Mid North Coast) on 19 and 20 February 2022.

The Central Districts qualifier will again be run at Mudgee on Sunday, 27 February 2022, and the Hunter and North-West qualifier a week later at Tamworth on Sunday, 6 March 2022. The regional qualifiers finish with the Western region qualifier being held for the third time at Coonamble on Sunday, 13 March 2022.

For the first time, the Wild Card race meeting is scheduled for Scone Racecourse on Sunday, 20 March 2022. The race distance will be 1400m, the Wild Card having previously been run over a distance of 1280m when held at Muswellbrook Racecourse.

The full list of Newhaven Park Country Championships dates is as follows:

Date Day Venue Region
12 February 2022 Saturday Coffs Harbour Northern Rivers
13 February 2022 Sunday Nowra South East
19 February 2022 Saturday Wagga Wagga Southern Districts
20 February 2022 Sunday Taree Mid North Coast
27 February 2022 Sunday Mudgee Central Districts
6 March 2022 Sunday Tamworth Hunter & North West
13 March 2022 Sunday Coonamble Western
20 March 2022 Sunday Scone Wild Card
2 April 2022 Saturday Royal Randwick Final



Share this article