190 Nominated For A Shot At The Famous Mile

The Australian Turf Club has received 190 nominations for Australia’s most famous mile race, the Group 1 $2m BMW Doncaster Mile to be run on Saturday, 20 April 2013 at Royal Randwick.

ATC Executive General Manager – Racing Matthew Rudolph is extremely pleased with the nominations, with 31 individual Group 1 winners, 17 have won Group 1 races at the metric mile, which includes 7 over the famous Royal Randwick mile.

“Last year’s BMW Doncaster Mile attracted a field of 13 Group 1 winners – ten of those at the distance,” Mr Rudolph said.

“This year’s nominations once again include the best Group 1 victors of all ages to fight out Australasia’s mile championship.” Notable entries include:

* Reigning BMW Doncaster Mile winner: More Joyous
* Current three-year-old Group 1 winners: All Too Hard, Epaulette, Fiveandahalfstar
* Two-year-old Triple Crown champion: Pierro (3YO)
* The last four Flight Stakes winners: Norzita (3YO), Streama, Secret Admirer and More Joyous

Connections will be looking to gain automatic entry into the final field via the following races; Chipping Norton Stakes (9 Mar), Liverpool City Cup (9 Mar), Royal Randwick Guineas (16 Mar), Coolmore Classic (23 Mar), Hylands Ajax Stakes (30 Mar), Daily Telegraph George Ryder Stakes (6 Apr) and the BMW Doncaster Prelude (13 April).

The full list of nominations can be viewed at the following link :


Source : Australian Turf Club

Share this article