Kentucky Derby Will Be Held On May 4

The Kentucky Derby, the first leg of the US 3YO triple crown. will be run at Churchill Downs this Saturday 4th May.

Some top gallopers have won this Group 1, 2000m race over the years. They include Secretariat, Affirmed, Seattle Slew, Sunday Silence and Fusaichi Pegasus. Animal Kingdom won this race in 2011 and has gone on to win the Dubai World Cup earlier this year.

And the great Secretariat still holds the record for the fastest time ever run in the Derby at 1:59.40.

In this year’s renewal, it looks a race between the Shug McGaughey-trained Orb and the undefeated Verrazano.

Orb will start from barrier 16, a gate that has produced four winners, most recently Animal Kingdom two years ago.

McGaughey is in US racing’s Hall of Fame, but the 62-year-old trainer has yet to win the Derby in six previous attempts.

Toidd Pletcher-trained Verrazano drew gate 14. He is one of five starters from the Pletcher stable.

With a capacity field of 20 runners, the 2013 edition of the Kentucky Derby looks set to be another spectacular classic.

By Owens Wong

Share this article