NSW Racehorse Owners Night of Champions Changes Form

NSW Racehorse Owners Association’s Racing’s Night of Champions is an annual highlight on the racing social calendar.

Owner Brae Sokolski at last year’s awards

Due to the ongoing uncertainties created by COVID-19, however, the red carpet event slated for Thursday 19 August this year, will not proceed.

The essence of the evening is of course acknowledging the achievements of our horses during the racing year.

The calculation and awarding of the trophies for our Champions in each category will proceed as normal and a presentation ceremony will likely be held at the races in late August.

New award sponsor Gow-Gates Insurance joins loyal supporters TAB, Sky Racing, the Australian Turf Club, Arrowfield, New Zealand Bloodstock, Wild Oaks, Inglis and the NSW Trainers’ Association.

The latter will name their sponsorship in honour of the late Rick Worthington, a Board Member of the NSW Trainers’ Association and President of the Warwick Farm Trainers’ Association.

The awards are:

ARROWFIELD Two-Year-Old of the Year
INGLIS Three-Year-Old of the Year
AUSTRALIAN TURF CLUB Sprinter of the Year
WILD OAKS Miler of the Year
NZ BLOODSTOCK Middle Distance Horse of the Year
GOW-GATES INSURANCE Stayer of the Year
RICK WORTHINGTON MEMORIAL Queen of the Autumn (sponsored by the NSW Trainers Assn)
SKY THOROUGHBRED NSW County Horse of the Year
SKY THOROUGHBRED NSW Provincial Horse of the Year
TAB Champion Horse of the Year

Share this article